INTERCHANGE: Donna's Secret

FUZ015 Release Date 17 January 2020
Recorded 7th & 8th January 2019 @ Angel Recording Studios, London
Co-Producers: Issie Barratt & Olga Fitzroy
Executive Producer: Issie Barratt
Chief Engineer at Angel Recording Studios: Jez Murphy
Tape Op at Angel Recording Studios: Laura Beck
Mixed & mastered by Gerry O'Riordan @ The Soundhouse Studios, London
Photographer: Sarah Hickson
Cover artwork: Judit Matthews
Graphic designer: Isaac Titus-Glover


Issie Barratt: Artistic Director. Baritone saxophone (All 9 tracks). Cowbells on "Kulning"
Jessica Radcliffe: Lead vocals on all tracks apart from "Donna's Secret"
Brigitte Beraha: Lead vocals on "Donna's Secret"
Laura Jurd: Trumpet (All 9 tracks)
Helena Kay: Alto saxophone (All 9 tracks). Clarinet on "Donna's Secret" & "Negomi"
Alyson Cawley: Flute on "Negomi" & "Kulning". Clarinet on "Palmyra". Soprano & tenor saxophones on all tracks apart from "Caliban"
Chelsea Carmichael: Tenor saxophone on "Caliban". Flute on "Negomi" & "Kulning"
Rosie Turton: Trombone (All 9 tracks)
Shirley Smart: Cello (All 9 tracks)
Karen Street: Accordion (All 9 tracks)
Charlie Pyne: Acoustic/electric bass (All 9 tracks) plus 2nd vocals on "Donna's Secret" & "Kulning"
Katie Patterson: Drums on all track apart from "Caliban". Percussion on "Kulning" & "Caliban"
Jas Kayser: Drums on "Caliban". Percussion on "Kulning", "Palmyra" & "Spontaneous Symmetry"
Nikki Iles: Piano on "Negomi"
Zoe Rahman: Piano on "Samla Korna Med Kulning"
Carol Jarvis: Vocals on "Hope"

"I've wanted to work with each of these amazing musicians for years. Avidly listening as they forge their creative paths across the international scene, sharing a mutual keenness to be bold and adventurous with their ideas. Their compositions are highly programmatic & often deeply personal, keenly exploring the full emotional spectrum, while pushing the composed & the improvised to the max. I’m certain this hand-picked ensemble will provide the listener with a unique & exciting programme that offers a broader, more diverse experience than any audience might typically hear!"
(Issie Barratt: Founding Artistic Director)

Issie Barratt's INTERCHANGE is supported by Arts Council England & PRS for Music Foundation

  • "A compelling & emotional set of top drawer contemporary jazz" - London Jazz News
  • "A totally engaging performance" Jazz Journal
  • "Full of sophisticated music & improvisational skill" - Bebop Spoken Here
  • "One of the finest & most creative jazz groups I've heard for a long time. A wonderful group spirit & enormous range of rich & colourful sound. When their CD is out, and the band fully launched, this could be one of the sensations of the year" - Darlington & Stockton Times
  • "One for the wish list" - London Jazz News

Track list: Eight newly commissioned works, funded by PRS for Music Foundation, Arts Council England and Fuzzy Moon Records.
  1. Still Here - Karen Street (9:33)
  2. Donna's Secret (Brigitte Beraha 9:47)
  3. Negomi (Nikki Iles 7:40)
  4. Samla Korna Med Kulning (Issie Barratt 11:20)
  5. Palmyra (Shirley Smart 11:33)
  6. Spontaneous Symmetry (Tori Freestone 12:44)
  7. Caliban (Cassie Kinoshi 7.51)
  8. Hope (Carol Jarvis 7.16)
For decriptions of each work, click here.